new member in Indian Trail

thefwis

New User
Tom
Hi, I'm Tom. I recently moved to area originally from Wisconsin. I have been doing simple woodworking for a few years. I now have a place where I can set up a decent shop. I sold my last table saw before moving here and now looking to purchase a new one as the centerpiece for my woodshop. I'm thinking a 3hp. Any suggestions and tips are welcomed.
Great to be part of the group

Gotcha6

Dennis
Staff member
Corporate Member
Welcome aboard, Tom. My only suggestion for a TS is the obvious. People here are pretty adamant about the particular brand they own, but you should get reasonably good performance from any major brand saw you wish to buy. What was the model you sold before moving? Keep your eyes peeled on Craigslist or other internet for sale sites, as you do see them pop up from time to time, but they usually go fast. Good luck.

Jim M.

Woody
Corporate Member
Well said Dennis. Welcome to the forum, Tom and great question, I'm sure you'll get plenty of feedback. As always, feel free to start discussions, post photos and share your projects with the group.

thefwis

New User
Tom
The saw I had was a contractor type Hitachi. there is no comparison to the cabinet saws out there now. I did see a North State saw at Laneave. It seems like a nice saw, though there is not much for reviews available.

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member
Tom welcome to NC and the NCWW family. If your intent is to become a serious woodworker get the best saw you can afford.

mquan01

Mike
Corporate Member
as a fellow ex-Wisconser, welcome. I have an older model SawStop if you want to come get a feel of that brand. You don't say how much you want to spend... I live off 485 at Harrisburg Road exit, so not to far....

Matt Furjanic

New User
Matt
Hi Tom,