Negative experience with Gennett Lumber in Asheville

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve D

Steve DeWeese
I needed to pick up some additional lumber recently for a project that I'm doing and only needed about 8 bd ft of wood. I've always found Gennett's pricing to be far from competitive but for the small amount it didn't make sense to go to Greenville, SC. I got there, selected the piece I needed and had them write up the ticket. The price was at least $.50 a board foot high but I expected that. When I went to pay I noticed that the ticket was written for 12 board feet and the piece of stock was exactly 9 board feet. I raised the question and was given a very condesending lecture on how to calculate board feet (really, is that how it works, I've never done this before). I slapped a tape on the piece and imagine that, my mental math was correct. I was told I'd have to take it up with the man in the warehouse as he does this all the time and really knows what he's doing :roll: .

Out to the warehouse I go and nicely tell him that I'm coming up with 9 board feet and he wrote it up as 12. He tells me that boards shrink in the kiln and you have to factor that into the equation. I let him know that other places I deal with account for that in their board foot pricing, not by adding lumber. I've certainly had places round up to the next board foot but not add 33% more lumber. He revised the ticket to 10 board feet and informed me that I really hadn't saved that much with the change. :evil: Initially I had thought this was simply an error but his response clearly demonstrated that the action was intentional. Their lousy prices, deceptive business practices and their overall poor attitude has guaranteed no further purchases.

There, now I feel better :lol:

Last edited:

JohnsonMBrandon

New User
Brandon Johnson