Need Advice on shop equipment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wilmingtonian

New User
David
As stated in my intro, I am new to wood working. I have the basic power tools:

Table saw; Mitre saw; two routers w/ table; compressor w/ framer, finisher, and brad guns; dovetail jig; kreg jig; orbital sander; circular saw; and such.

I have been seeing alot about jointers, sanders, and planers. I use my garage as a work space. With cabinet making in mind, what would you recommend that I need in a amature shop? What does the recommended item do? I have the current grizzly catelog, is this a good place to shop? Also, I am working on a pretty tight budget when it comes to tools. Any and all advise from the Gurus would be much appreciated.

-David

Matt

New User
Matt Willis
Welcome fellow New Hanover Countian (is that a word?)!

I can help with a couple of your questions:

Jointer: Very handy. Used to give a flat surface to a board to reference from.

Planer: I wish I owned one. Gives you even thickness and will clean up the opposite face of a board that has been through the jointer.

I live on a budget as well :BangHead: I prefer to buy higher quality and hopefully (lightly) used stuff instead of cheap new stuff. My neighbor is the opposite. So far, the jury is still out on who is smarter. This forum is a great place to find used stuff. It seams like someone is always upgrading something.

Hope this helps and welcome.

Monty

New User
Monty
Matt has given some sound advice! For cabinet making, or for any other project for that matter, a jointer and a planer are essential. If you have never used them, it's hard to understand how useful they are. Buy quality used or watch these forums for sales/clearance deals, etc - that's what I did to get my jointer & planer.

DaveO

New User
DaveO