My Introduction.

Status
Not open for further replies.

TomM

New User
Tom
Hello Fellow Woodworkers,

I'm a retired (former software developer) amateur woodworker living in Durham. My shop is in my garage. I've been working wood for about 15 years now, gradually learning and getting better at it.

I tend to take my time building things as I like to learn the best methods and acquire good tools as I go along. I have a Delta Unisaw, a Delta band saw, a Powermatic jointer, a Delta drill press, and a number of routers. I use these as needed but I enjoy using hand tools and tend to use them whenever I can. I have a good set of high-quality handplanes (Lie-Nielsen and Veritas) and I'm generally able to achieve the results I want from them but I'm always eager to learn more.

I'm currently near the end of my biggest project yet, a Stickley-style bookcase made of red oak, which I've been working on for a looooonnnng time. But so far it looks good.

I'm thrilled to see this active community of woodworkers and I look forward to meeting you in person.

Thanks,
TomM

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Welcome Tom!

We should use your intro for a template for all those Raleigh/Durham folks. I think it fits a whole bunch. :rotflm:

timf67

New User
Tim
don't forget to post pictures of you bookcase so that we can "borrow" your design :gar-Bi

dancam

Dan
Corporate Member
Hey Tom,

Welcome and I'm sure you'll enjoy the ww'g community here at NCWW. Post some pics of past projects and we look forward to the red oak bookcase.

Dan C.

froglips

New User
Jim Campbell
Greetings Tom! Can't wait to see a pic of the finished bookcase! Projects take as long as they take. At least thats what I tell myself :p

Jim

M

McRabbet

Welcome to the site, Tom. Glad you've found us and we welcome you!

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member