More fun with melamine

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
Even after making a tapering jig and outfeed table, I still have lots of melamine left over. And since I still haven't given Wayne back his countersink bits, I figured it was time to finally build a drill press table. Those small metal tables with metal ridges 1/4" from the side make it impossible to clamp anything! :BangHead::BangHead:

I'm a novice woodworker at best and my engineering projects generally involve duct tape. Making a table didn't seem all that difficult, but how to attach it? I saw a design on another WW site on mounting a larger table via some T-nuts. Simple enough with a router and a guide collar.

Here's a view underneath. The various extrusions make it a tight, but the standard (black) Rockler knobs just fit. :icon_thum

The completed table. I laminated a piece of melamine to the plywood using some poly glue and screws. That held just fine. Edge banded with some 3/4 QS beech and biscuits. The final dimensions are 24" x 16". I thought about making it larger, but that would make it hard to reach the crank to raise/ lower the table.

Here's a shot of the bottom of the completed table. Note the relief holes to enable the T-bolts to be fitted into the groove. You may want to drill those _before_ you glue up.... :eusa_doh::eusa_doh: but things turned out OK.

The fence is a piece of 2" angled aluminum with some melamine attached. The knobs are pillaged from my router table, the larger Rockler ones fit there but not on this small a fence. This was the first time I routed aluminum, not all that difficult. A face mask would be nice to have to, those little metal slivers can be sharp.