Miter Saw Table?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SevenPin

New User
R
Hey there - It's been a while since I last posted :(. I've got in mind a new project. I would like to move my miter saw from it's mobile base to a more permament location against one of the shop walls. I've seen your pictures of how the table is built and I'm leaning towards lowering the saw and matching the height on the new table (yet to be built). I would like to have a fence of some sort on the table so I can use a stop block to make repetitive cuts. But I also like the idea of having more table top area spread stuff out on. Any ideas on how I might approach this? One idea is making a T-square that can be clamped on the edge of the table for short cuts. For longer cuts, maybe an 2X4 extension off the open end of the table with a brace to the floor for the really long cuts. Am I missing anything that might work better (I know I am but be gentle :rotflm: -- I'm new at this shop layout stuff).

Thanks for any and all suggestions.

SevenPin

Canuck

Wayne
Corporate Member
Almost 2 years ago, I built this one. I used the Kreg track and stop blocks for the fence. I placed a shop vac in the center cabinet to catch some of the dust and a slide out tray for my sharpening gear.

100_2920.jpg

View image in gallery

More pictures in my gallery.....

http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?cat=2191

Maybe you can use soem of the ideas here.

Wayne

sandfarm

Joe
User
I built my mitre saw in permanent in the same table. Long boards lay either side of the RAS. From left to right. 14 feet to the RAS blade about 4 more feet to the mitre saw blade and the about 4 feet to the end of the table.
My fence is wood and runs the whole length.
So far everything is working for me.
Joe Isley

SevenPin

New User
R