Lathe Tools

Status
Not open for further replies.

jg2259

Jim
Senior User
Hi, I am new to turning, but have done a lot of research. I purchased an 8 pc set of Harbor Freight lathe tools to learn to turn and to sharpen. I was just about ready to build a Wolverine type jig, when I found a Woodcut Tru Grind jig, an Ace 6" grinder, with 5 wheels(Norton/3M Grey/White) for $130.

Now I am attemping to sharpen my tools. I setup the Tru Grind on my Harbor Freight 8"wet/6"dry grinder, and I am surprised at how good of a job the wet wheel does, although I don't have anything to compare it to, because I have never sharpened a lathe tool before. But I have sharpened plane irons and chisels, and I definitely know what sharp is.

My problem is, I can't tell the difference between a spindle gouge, bowl gouge, roughing gouge, etc. I'm not even sure if the set included a bowl gouge. I'm trying to sharpen these tools by the standards that are documented in the Tru Grind manual, but need to know what I am sharpening, so I can apply the correct settings. I have attached pics of two of the gouges that I am having trouble identifying.

Any insight is greatly appreciated.
Jim

Attachments

• image-1590659209.jpg
    image-1590659209.jpg
    557.5 KB · Views: 102
  • image-431945908.jpg
    image-431945908.jpg
    546.2 KB · Views: 110
  • image-358578361.jpg
    image-358578361.jpg
    563.1 KB · Views: 108
  • image-4142337425.jpg
    image-4142337425.jpg
    568.5 KB · Views: 116
  • image-1712456569.jpg
    image-1712456569.jpg
    480.8 KB · Views: 118
  • image-4221570071.jpg
    image-4221570071.jpg
    606.4 KB · Views: 114
  • image-4043720137.jpg
    image-4043720137.jpg
    642 KB · Views: 110

ashley_phil

Phil Ashley
Corporate Member
agreed none of those look like a true bowl gouge.

not to say you can't turn a bowl with one or put a thumbnail grind on one and go to work. especially the more narrow one.

Roy G

Roy
Senior User