Kreg Jig

Status
Not open for further replies.

John.P.Burns

New User
John
Hello,

I've never done pocket joints before. I am looking at purchasing a pocket joint jig and from everything I've seen, the Kreg Jig seems to be pretty good. My only concern is that it is a little pricey. Is the Master Kit worth the money, or would anyone recomend another kit or jig? Thanks for any advice up front.

-John

Steve_Honeycutt

Chat Administartor
Steve
John,

I built an entertainment center and used pocket hole screws exclusively. I used almost 300 screws on this project. You can see a picture of my entertainment center at:

http://www.ncwoodworker.net/forums/showthread.php?t=39495&highlight=Entertainment+Center

...or in my photo gallery. There were two places that I did not use them, the raised panel doors and the back. I purchased the K3 system and I would recommend it. Recently there was a thread about preventing joint creep when using pocket hole screws. The two primary reasons that I chose to use them was they make assemblying a project very quick and the joint is strong. Good luck.

Steve

TBradley190

New User
Tim
Agreed :icon_thum I bought the original Kreg jig in 1994 and has proved to be indespensable in my shop. As a matter of fact, I don't know how I would build face frames if I didn't have one....jm2cents

Tim

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
It's worth it. When it comes to building cabinets, I use it for everything - carcass, face frame, even attaching the face frame to the carcass. And the mini Kreg jig is great for furniture repair.

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member
And there is a big difference between the Kreg and the knock offs. If you are building book cases and cabinets they worth every penny.

MarkE

Mark
Corporate Member
I have the K3 master kit, Use it all the time. It makes for a very quick and strong joint. It also makes it easy to measure parts to length, no joinery to figure in to the calculations.