How to stop bandsaw from making odd noises

AvocadoesTasteGood

New User
Ryan
I'm very new to using the bandsaw so I wonder is it normal for a bandsaw when cutting wood to sound like a metal grinding? It only makes this sound when I cut wood, do I need to lubricate the wheels or anything of the sorts? If I do should I use mineral oil?

Hmerkle

Board of Directors, Development Director
Hank
Staff member
Corporate Member
@AvocadoesTasteGood
Noises are hard to diagnose in words.
What bandsaw do you have?
What upgrades if any (carter guides, cool blocks etc.)

video would be helpful, but have a look at the thrust bearings (bearings in back of the blade, if they are frozen and the blade is wearing a groove in the upper or the lower, that could be the problem.

Also, if you have steel guide blocks or the throat plate is too close to the blade, that could be a problem.

I am going to guess the thrust bearing or guide blocks since it is when you are cutting wood... meaning you are putting pressure on the blade and possibly pushing it into one of these guide elements...

Hope that helps, at least something to look for..

Craptastic

Matt
Corporate Member
I'm going with Hanks first impression here and agreeing that you should look at the thrust bearings. From what I've seen those are a fully ignored item by casual BS users.

Might also help to pin down where on the BS the noise is actually emanating from. Pull the guards and covers on a known tracking saw and turn it on while standing at a safe angle/distance (also make sure what breaker it's on in case you need to hit that to kill it). You should be able to get a better idea where it's coming from.

Rwe2156

DrBob
Senior User
Sounds like guides.

If your saw has bearing guides and they are adjusted too close they make a lot of noise. If the saw has some hours on it, check the bearings. They do go bad.

tvrgeek

Scott
Corporate Member
Stumpy Nubs has a video on band saw noises.