How should I tack this veneer back down?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monty

New User
Monty
Approximately 50 year-old piece... refinishing... card scraper... should have zigged when I zagged... yea, I know better. :eusa_doh:

IMG_03722.JPG

I'm thinking hide glue? I don't have any experience with the stuff. Any advice appreciated.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Any glue, I would use TB, clamp it tight with some painters tape, and Bob's your Uncle.

BTW Monty, It **** good to see you around here. You've been missed!!!!!!!!!!!

Dave:)

FredP

Fred
Corporate Member
i would use contact cement. brush both side let dry and stickit. welcome back monty. good to hear from ya.:icon_thum

Monty

New User
Monty
It's good to be back! I'm a little worried about squeeze-out ruining the finish... I suppose painter's tape would help prevent that, but this is a very visible area and really I don't want to risk screwing it up (again). I've had plenty of experience with TB and contact cement, as well as plastic resin glue. I recently heard that hide glue would not affect the finish, and that's why I was thinking of trying that, but I've never worked with it and I don't know if that's the best choice here.

Glennbear

Glenn
I vote for contact cement also. Blue tape masking during application and 0% chance of squeeze out since it will be dry when you stick the veneer to the substrate. :wsmile:

froglips

New User
Jim Campbell
If it was hide glued, I'd recommend sticking (har har) with it.

You can easily test for hide glue, a tiny bit of denatured alchohol will crystalize hide glue. With heat, it will revert back to glue, so it won't ruin the joint. Hot water will also reactivate the glue, so a drop or so and the glue should become tacky again.