HF turbine HVLP

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Here's my review of the HF turbine HVLP and GF's Poly-Acrylic.
I picked this system up a while back with intentions of finishing this project with it. I hoped it would greatly speed up the process.
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=44677
I have not used HVLP sprayers before nor a water-based finish, so take this for what it is.
WOW I'm impressed, I think that I will be spraying everything that I can from now on.
The machine is very quiet, quieter than a cheap shop vac, only a little louder than my Jet air filter. I started out with a test piece of stock to test my settings. I started shooting the gun completely closed and slowly increased the flow rate until I got a nice even wet coat with a single pass. Then I took to my work pieces. Due to the constructions of these cages I have 6 separate pieces to finish. I covered all the CI surfaces in my shop to protect from any over-spray. I sprayed the first coat on all pieces. It looked rough, and blue. But after a few minutes the finish leveled and the blueness went away. After a while I realized that the blue-ness was a result of to thick of an application, and I adjusted the gun accordingly.
I found the HF turbine HVLP to be very easy to use, especially for an extreme novice like me. The settings and needle selection were very straight forward. I used the .05 tip for this application with the finish straight out of the can and no viscosity measurements. The results out of the gun were much greater than I anticipated. Clean up was extremely easy (water based finish and all plastic :icon_thum)
As far as the General Finishes Poly-Acrylic is concerned, I think it is one of the easiest finishes to use. I applied it very novice-ly and it looked pretty rough, but it leveled out and provided a great satin top coat for my project.
I would highly recommend both products for the hobbyist user.