Grizzly vs Jet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rbohno

New User
Rich
Jet has a sale going on right now till I believe 3/10 for 15% off.

Is Jet worth the extra $$$$ two examples when compared to Grizzly

Grizzly G1023RLX .....................$1675
Jet 708675 Xactasaw Deluxe ......$2082 sale price

Planer
Grizzly G0453 ..........................$1275
Jet 708538 JWP-15DX ...............$1691

Bandsaw
Grizzly G0555LX........................$ 604
Shop Fox W1706 .....................$ 583.20 ( sale price till Saturday)

SubGuy

New User
Zach
I have the Jet JTAS XL10, 10" 3HP 220V saw. It has the XACTA Fence on it. I love it and would not trade it for any comparable saw. I have very little experience with the Grizzly saw, but I would almost guarantee you'd love the JET!

KenOfCary

Ken
Staff member
Corporate Member
Can't speak to table saws (I have a SawStop) but almost all of my other major equipment (except the drum sander) is Grizzly. Planer, Jointer (both with spirals) Band Saw, Belt Sander/Disc Sander combo, Oscillating Spindle Sander, and wet grinder are all Grizzly. Just no price/value comparison with others. Oh, I do have a PowerMatic bench Mortiser, no better bench model around.

Grizzly might be manufactured overseas but is a US company. I'm not sure about Jet. Some of their products appear to be made in the same factory as Grizzly, but overall I find the Griz machines a better value. It might just be me but I am a Grizzly fan and am not a Jet fan. My reasons are mostly subjective such as the look and features that I value. An example being cast iron infeed/outfeed tables on the Griz 15" planer and rollers on the Jet. Rollers are dangerous in my opinion.

That could change depending on new products and prices. Haven't made a lot of comparisons lately as I'm not in the market for anything but a larger lathe.

Having said that I just ordered a few Jet Clamps - they are even better than Bessey in my opinion.

Just my opinion - YMMV.

jhreed

james