Gloat and Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

SSuther

New User
Stan
I went to our local MWTCA meeting (Waxhaw) a couple of weeks ago and snagged two nice planes. One is a nicely used Stanley 93 shoulder plane. You may recall I'd asked advice on that awhile back. Got this one for a nice price, and it works well with no fettling required. The other is a wooden moving fillester plane. Overall in good condition (great to look at), but one of the screw holes in the bottom for fence adjustment is stripped. I'd love to hear from you folks on what you think would be the best way to resolve that problem. I'd like to put this one back into use.

Photos attached.

Attachments

• Misc 012 (Small).jpg
    Misc 012 (Small).jpg
    60.2 KB · Views: 158
  • Misc 014 (Small).jpg
    Misc 014 (Small).jpg
    58 KB · Views: 159
  • Misc 017 (Small).jpg
    Misc 017 (Small).jpg
    48.7 KB · Views: 153

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
I am by no means an expert, but how about making a plug to fill the hole and then redrilling and screwing your screw back in?

Nice haul on the planes. I have the 93 myself and love it.

SSuther

New User
Stan
Well, first thought was to plug it and re-drill it. My only caution on that is that the plug will be going cross-grain and I'll be drilling with the grain which is normally hard to do without the bit wandering, plus screwing into end grain is not very strong. Of course, I may be making too much out of this repair. If it strips out again, I'll just have to do it again.

Monty

New User
Monty
hmmm... that hole is pretty close to the side of the plane, so drilling it out with an oversized bit may not give acceptable results. I might consider chiseling out a square and inlaying a block of hardwood there. Mark the location of the hole center on the surrounding wood first.

SSuther

New User
Stan