End Table, Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gofor

Mark
Corporate Member
Hi All. LOML wants some new end tables. I built the following proto-type out of pine (at least I got that done for Mother's Day!) so we can make sure the design, dimensions,etc are what we want. This is my first try at edge joining wood and building drawers (another reason for the proto-type)
Beings she would like the the final renditions (at least two and probably four) to be about the same lightness in color, what would be some good hardwood species to consider. I am thinking Ash, White Oak, or Maple. Any suggestions? This is Golden Oak oil based stain on pine with a rubbed poly topcoat.
Appreciate any comments/criticisms:lol::

ETFrtCnr.JPG

ETOpen.JPG

ETBack2.JPG

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Wow, for your first try at edge jointing and drawers, you done real good :icon_thum That's a very nice prototype. :eusa_clap :eusa_clap
For wood selection, I would second Ash, and up you Hickory, Pecan, and Birch. Birch might be the easiest, due to the availablitity of plywood (if you're gonna use it) although the solid stock is harder to come by. You might be able to do Birch ply and soft Maple solid stock and use a gel stain to even the woods out. My .02, Dave:)

Gofor

Mark
Corporate Member
Thanks for the compliment. I hope not to use any ply in the final product. I am still looking for a reasonable good quality #5,6, or 7 hand plane to ease the edge jointing and flattening process (I did the top, doors and drawer front with a #4 and it was a challenge). The fact that I probably won't be starting with S4S next time will make it more so (Not that the S4S was either square or flat, but you work with what you gots to work with!) But heck, if it was easy everyone would be doin' it!:lol:

DaveO

New User
DaveO
You didn't say that you hand jointed at first, I am even more impressed.
Dave (feeling very unworthy):)

Ray Martin

New User
Ray