Durable spray finish for a bunkbed??

Status
Not open for further replies.

snojcb

New User
J.C.
I'm building a bunkbed/play loft out of poplar for my daughter and am approaching the finishing stage. I'm really new to woodworking and this is my first painted/sprayed project. I need some advise on selecting the finish.

I want the finish to be durable (kid's bed and play loft, so it's going to take some abuse). Thought I'd ask you kind folks for advise.

1) I'd like to spray the finish because I believe it would save a lot of time and the finish would come out smoother with less work (no brush marks to sand out).

2) I've heard spraying oil-based finishes is dangerous and messy (harder to cleanup). So I'd like to stick with water based.

3) I will likely buy a HVLP conversion gun from Jeff at HomesteadFinishing when I've made the final decision. Maybe an Accuspray 19c?? Will call Jeff and chat with him before I pull the trigger.

4) I want different parts of the bed to be different colors (so there'll be some masking involved). All colors will be pastels or white.

So, any recommendations of what kind of paint to spray that would be durable, easy to spray and come in pastels?? I've heard that latex on furniture isn't the best idea. Looking for advise from those with experience.

Oh, can I spray on the primer (kilz, Zinsser BIN??), too, or does that need to be applied by hand?

Thanks!
J. C.

Monty

New User
Monty
I don't have real experience with this, but Woodguy has recommended colored lacquer for painted furniture. It comes in a variety of colors,and using dyes you can alter the color however you want to. Plus, since it's lacquer it should be easy to spray.

chris99z71

New User
Chris
Welcome to the best WWing site on the web, JC!
Based on what I've heard from Woodguy, I too was going to recommend a colored lacquer.
Instead of masking, would it be easier to spray it before the final assembly?

Monty

New User
Monty