Checking in from Hubert

Status
Not open for further replies.

Takarin

New User
Takarin
Greetings all. Just thought I'd drop a quick not to introduce myself. My name's Tony, and I am a woodworker. I live in Hubert, NC (near Camp Lejeune). I'm an active-duty Marine of 17 years (retirement is close at hand!) and I work in communications.

I've been into woodworking for a few years now. There's been some stops and starts... work can get in the way sometimes. This winter, I blew the dust off of my tools and got the shop up and running. Nothing fancy, just 1.2 of my garage. I don't have Laguna or Jet tools... but I make it work. In just a few weeks I've built the following:

• Small picnic table for my 2 y/o.
  • Router table out of the out-feed table on my table saw - with fence and dust collection port!
  • Zero-clearance insert for my table saw.
  • Installed a vise on my workbench.
Currently, I'm refinishing our coffee table. Just got finished sanding everything down and I'm ready to stain and finish. Going with Red Mahogany stain. I'll probably finish it with 2-3 coats of shellac and 2 coats of poly on the top.

Upcoming projects: Refinish the matching end tables. Build a book shelf. Revisit a display table I built a couple of years ago (my first attempt at mortise-and-tenon construction).

Looking forward to interacting with everyone. I've heard a lot fo good things about this community.

Tak

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Welcome Tak, I am glad you could join us. It sounds like you give a new meaning to the Military saying..."We do more before 6:00 am than most people do all day" You've been busy. I look forward to your input in the forums and hopefully seeing some pictures of your work. You can start with the router table set-up in your out-feed table, if you got any pictures.
See you around!!

Dave:)

Trent Mason

New User
Trent Mason
Welcome to the site. This is a great group of folks. Please feel free to jump in at any time. :icon_thum

Cheers, :eek:ccasion1

Trent