Another Newby

Status
Not open for further replies.

scsmith42

New User
Scott Smith
Hi Y'all. I ran across this site via a string posted on the Forestry Forum (another great site) about two slabs that were joined to make a table top, and it looked like a superb place to learn.

My wife and I have a small farm in New Hill (30 miles SW of Raleigh), and I spend a lot of time on a variety of farm and construction projects. I'm a retired professional, and my wife is a veterinarian that operates a non-profit mobile spay-neuter program. We have a lot of rescue critters on the farm.

I've done a variety of construction work over the years, but not much detail wood work since wood shop in grade school. In the coming months I plan on spending more time in the woodshop though.

Thanks to the tax codes, I have a pretty solid collection of entry-grade but heavy-duty equipment (mostly Grizzly) that I've bought for timber frame and general work about the farm. I also have a 10" Peterson WPF sawmill, and a Nyle dehumidification kiln that I built a few years back for drying lumber for farm projects.

I'm looking forward to learning from y'all, and contributing where I can.

Regards,

Scott Smith

ptt49er

Phillip
Corporate Member
:)WELCOME FROM ANOTHER NEWBIE!!!:-D
From the way things look around here, it seems to be an awesome group of people!

M

McRabbet

Welcome to the website, Scott. We think you'll find lots of good people and info on woodworking here -- I lived in Durham and used to drive through New Hill on my way to play golf in the Southern Pines area, coming down NC 751. Retired to the mountains in 2004 and have a great shop and lots of Grizzly tools, too. Share with us what you've got... Pics, too!

Rob

dozer

Mike
Welcome to the group Scott. I would really like to know a little more about you kiln if you trying to come up with some ideas for my own. You will really enjoy being a member here great people and great advice.

DaveO

New User
DaveO