Another Durham Newbee

Status
Not open for further replies.

The WaMoo

New User
Steve
Hi Folks,
After a bit of prodding from John Reeves I decided to register with WWNC. I started doing woodworking seriously in 1991 when I quit playing golf. That is just enough time to buy a full shop of tools and then realize that the economy models are not quite up to the minimum standards for long term, serious work. The replacement process is now complete.

I am an engineer for GE with only a matter of months until retirement. I really enjoy doing case work and have a keen appreciation for a balance between machine tool work and doing things by hand. Skills were honed through several trips to the Center for Furniture Craftsmanship in Maine. There, I learned to really appreciate Shaker furniture (from Chris Becksvoort) and Peter Korn drilled me in hand cut dovetails (I sold my Leigh jig). My best pieces thus far include a reproduction of a Shaker blanket chest (no sand paper touched the wood), two walnut beds (four poster and sleigh) and a high chair with an intarsia back. Currently working on another sleigh bed for my bedroom.

I look forward to a great deal of help from you guys. The material I have read makes me very excited to have WWNC members as a new resource. I also understand that sharing goes both ways and I really like to help other serious woodworkers (and those who think they might want to get serious.)

sapwood

New User
Roger
Thanks for joining us Steve!
Two new Durham members in a week :eusa_danc
:eusa_thin Could be time for another lunch/wood chat.

Enjoy,
Roger

Ray Martin

New User
Ray
Hi Steve