MM16 Blade tension

Status
Not open for further replies.

SteveColes

New User
Steve
Yeah, I know the answer but I want to make sure. I have a new Lennox Tri-master Carbide tipped blade:eusa_danc This is the first blade put on this new saw. After doing all the adjustments, Ihave been testing cuts. Wow, like butter. No drift:swoon:. But, there is always a "but":gar-La; the quality of the cut is not what I expected. It is very rough, even for my unskilled hands. There seems to be a lot of extra "movement" when cutting.Since the guides have been adjusted very carefully both to the minimax setup video and the dollar bill method, I doubt that the guides are the main problem. I think the tension is not enough. Well, of course, the obvious solution is to increase tension. Using the built in gauge, I took it up to the 1 1/4" marking, no real change.

So before, I start cranking up the tension until I get a cleaner cut, anybody with this combination of saw and blade have any words wisdom. In fact, I'll take any words of wisdom from anybody about BS tensioning

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
What size blade did you get?

I tension my blade to about the 1.5" mark most of the time. If you don't have enough tension I tend to believe you get "wavy" cuts.

Are you resawing and not getting smooth cuts? What is your feed rate? Feed rate on resawing I do pretty fast. If you go too slow you are going to get rough cuts and more washboard effect.

SteveColes

New User
Steve

I tension my blade to about the 1.5" mark most of the time. If you don't have enough tension I tend to believe you get "wavy" cuts.

Are you resawing and not getting smooth cuts? What is your feed rate? Feed rate on resawing I do pretty fast. If you go too slow you are going to get rough cuts and more washboard effect.
1" blade.

cpowell

New User
Chuck