Jointer frustration

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
I've tried three different methods (stick, magnetic jig, dial indicator), and I'm an expert at setting my jointer knives at the right height. I can get them to within .0005".

The problem is that as soon as I tighten the screws on the knife gib, one corner is raised a random amount, somewhere between .001 and .004. Of course, each knife goes in a different direction, and the results aren't pretty.

I've tried tightening the screws one at a time, very gently, the same amount. I've tried holding the knife in place with the magnetic jig and completely tightening the middle two screws. I've tightened one screw, adjusted the other end, gone back, tightened them one at a time....it doesn't make a difference. Still get a ragged cut.

What am I doing wrong? And do they make jointers with an idiot-proof knife setting system, like planers have? I've run the magnets and dial indicator over the knives so many times, they'll be blunt before I get them set up.

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
.0005? I would be happy with .001 to .004. 1/128 of an inch is .007.

Patience is the key. DavidF came over and help me do mine in my DJ-20. I would say we spent a good 30 minutes on each blade going back and forth.

If you are using a dial indicator with a magnetic base that may be making it harder as well. David had a neat little base for his dial indicator that is similar to the Oneway gauge I got.

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
Well, the .0005 is after many, many, many hours of practice. I'd be happy too if I could get the three knives within .004 of each other. The problem is getting each knife STRAIGHT. The cut is really bad because sometimes the knife end closest to the fence is high, sometimes it's low. As soon as I tighten the screws, it's crooked. As a result, I get a lot of chatter and the boards develop a lovely taper.