Hello From Marion, NC

Status
Not open for further replies.

lcottrell

New User
Lance
Hello everyone. My name is Lance. I was referred by John Whittaker in Charlotte, who I found on Sawmillcreek. I'm still pretty new to woodworking, but starting to get my feet wet now. I've read quite a bit the last couple of years, but because of circumstances was unable to really get any tools and setup any resemblance of a shop until now. I just received my Grizzly 1023SL table saw a week ago and am still in the process of getting it setup. I have a Shark Guard on order. My wife and I have completed a few projects with the tools we had. The biggest one and the one I am most proud of is the woodworking bench. It is made from laminated 2x4s for legs, with laminated 2x10s for the stretchers and a double layer of 3/4" MDF for the top with a layer of 1/4" hardboard on top of that. It isn't fine furniture, but we learned a lot doing it and it seems like it will do the job.

Aside from my interest in woodworking, I enjoy camping, traveling, doing DIY projects around the house, and computers. I really enjoy playing cards too, poker mostly, but haven't been able to find anyone to play with since moving to WNC a year ago. If anyone is looking for another person to play in the area, give me a shout. I've been married to my lovely wife for about 10 years now. She is Japanese and we met while I was stationed in Japan in the Navy. We don't have any kids, but have 2 lab mix dogs that we really love. I am a veteran and I work at the VA Medical Center in Asheville where I have the honor of helping to taking care of other veterans.

My wife and I don't know many people in the area yet, so if anyone wants to get together, talk woodworking, or have a beer, let me know.

JackLeg

New User
Reggie
Welcome, Lance. You shouldn't have any problem finding someone to speak "wood" with you up there, or share a brew. You've got some really accomplished ww's in your area.