What planer to buy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Max1013

New User
AJ
Well I fine myself looking for a planer. I've never used one before so I have no experience on one. I would like to know what I should start looking at? I have a small shop and right now woodworking is just a hobby. I would like one that is portable so I can use it out side but I do have a dust system. I would like to get a ideal of the good and bad. I quest like everyone else cheaper is better but I don't want to get a POS. :help:

Jeremy Scuteri

Jeremy
I had a dw734 before upgrading to a 15" grizzly planer with a spiral cutterhead. I thought the dw734 was a darn good planer for the money.

wdwrkr

New User
wdwrkr
Had the exact same DeWalt. Have the exact same Grizzly - I agree with RonJ103.
I used the DeWalt for many years and gave it some tough work to do. It never failed, always did a great job.

Jeremy Scuteri

Jeremy
How long did the DeWalt blades last?

The blades were reversible, and indexed (which made installation really easy, but you couldn't really sharpen them), so you could flip each of them over one time before replacing. For rough planing, as long as you didn't try and hog off a bunch of material at once, they were pretty good. I went quite a while before replacing them. If you aren't working with rough lumber, they should last even longer. I guess it is hard to give a real specific answer. It depends on how much material you run through the planer, how much you take off at a time and the type of wood you are planing. I owned my planer for 2 years and changed the blades once. I did use a bunch of rough cut walnut, some cherry, cedar and white oak.

batk30msu

New User
brent