Thinning Latex for HVLP

Status
Not open for further replies.

gdoebs

New User
Geoff
Hi guys,

I have a Fuji Q4 Pro HVLP system and I'm going to start painting my new kitchen cabinets (poplar and MDF). I hope to use the same paint as I did on the trim in our house, Behr Premium. I know I'll have to thin the paint down but since I've never done this before, I'm not sure where to start. According to my searching online and reading the manual for the Fuji, I should be ok with the needle set that I have (#4). I think I read to thin the paint no more than 25%. But, what does that mean!?! If I wanted a quart to spray would it be 75% paint and 25% water? or 1 quart of paint and 1/4 quart of water? I'm guessing 75% paint and 25% water but I just want to be sure. I'm planning on adding some floetrol too.

I'll also be building a knockdown spray booth. As well as a drying rack that'll go inside the house to dry.

I do have some 4x8 sheets of cardboard to practice on, and some scrap poplar.

Any other tips?

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
I have the Earlex 5000 HVLP. It came with a viscosity measuring gadget. The idea is that whatever finish you have should flow through the opening within x seconds. If it's too slow, then thin it. Does the Fuji have a similar cup? That'll provide a good start. My suggestion is that you thin it no more than 10%. I'd go with 5% water and 5% Floetrol. If you add more (which I was forced to do), you'll need a lot more coats, and the sheen will drastically dull. I sprayed gloss and it came out flat. So if you're on the fence about a sheen, go one glossier. Excessive thinning will also affect the paint adhesion and durability.