Thin Boiled Linseed Oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.

terry1166

New User
Terry
I need some advice from some of you more experienced finishers. I am finishing a small project made of some nice straight grained cherry stock and am considering applying a coat of boiled linseed oil, then several coats of super blond shellac. I've never used boiled linseed oil before. i have a test piece that I am using to check out my finish schedule. Tonight I opened the boiled linseed oil and applied a coat on the test piece. i was surprised at how thick it was and how quickly it dried on the surface. Should the boiled linseed oil used in this type of finishing schedule be thinned? If so, what ratio should I use to thin it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Terry

mkepke

Mark
Senior User
I assume you are using the boiled linseed oil (BLO) to add color and depth, but no protection for the wood ?

If so, thin it with mineral spirits to whatever consistency you want.

-Mark

Joe Scharle

New User
Joe
Fresh BLO will start to tackup in 10 minutes @ 70+deg. The idea with BLO is to get it on and wipe it off for even coverage and to prevent 'jelling' or gumming up on the wood.
So, if the BLO is too thick to behave, by all mean, thin it out. But fresh BLO needs no thinning.
I too like BLO as a colorant, as it's pretty foolproof, and foolproof for me, is a good thing!

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member
I often thin my BLO 50/50 with mineral spirits. Same grain popping effect and drys faster. I would wait a couple days between applying the BLO and your top coats.

Bill Clemmons

Bill
Corporate Member
I often thin my BLO 50/50 with mineral spirits. Same grain popping effect and drys faster. I would wait a couple days between applying the BLO and your top coats.