Spray Question...

Status
Not open for further replies.

pslamp32

New User
Peter
I've got the HVLP that they sell at Rockler....

61577-01-200.jpg

I think they sell something similar at Harbor Freight as well. Can any of you that have this gun tell me if I need to dilute exterior latex paint before using. Also which nozzle do I use? I've got some Adirondacks and lounge chairs I'd like to paint and I thought I'd try this gun again. I cant seem to get it to work for me when using other finishes but these paint projects I'm not too particular about. Thanks!

b4man

New User
Barbara
Peter,
I'm no expert but when I have sprayed latex with my HVLP gun I mix Flotrol in the paint for better viscosity. I don't know about the nozzle choices I have only 2. One for varnish and one for paint.
Hope someone that knows more chimes in here!
Good luck!

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
You have to thin it with Floetrol and/or water or it will not spray, it will sputter. Use the largest needle/seat pair available.

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
Is there a proportion to use. I know I'm retarded sorry.

Never say that. What we don't know, we dont' know.

As for proportion, I don't know. I have heard starting with 10 percent water and 20 percent floetrol, but I have not tried it myself. I have tried unthinned paint in an HVLP conversion gun with a standard tip and I know that it sputters and doesn't spray. I

JackLeg

New User
Reggie
Earlex recommends cutting it 10%, trying it, and then 5% incrementally if it needs more. They also have a viscosity cup. Don't know if it works or not.

WoodWrangler

New User
Jeremy
If you do pull it off, I think you're going to need a large needle -- and if you don't have that as an option, you'll need to thin the paint a bit.