Shop Cart Completed - 4/26/2015

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeremy Scuteri

Jeremy
I have been working on a shop cart for quite a while now. It started with a sketchup model in this thread (http://www.ncwoodworker.net/forums/s...ight=shop+cart)

Next construction started with a cabinet and drawers in this thread (http://www.ncwoodworker.net/forums/showthread.php?t=55534)
IMG_9923.jpg

This has been done for a while now. Next came the veneering of the top. I picked up some veneer at an auction quite a while ago and have used very little of it. Most of it has been sandwiched between sheets of hardboard and stored away. I left some "scrap" pieces out in a few bundles and I thought this project would be a good time to practice jointing and taping veneer seams. I have never done that before.

These pieces of veneer have some pretty good figure, but they had a few holes and I wasn't sure how they would affect things. Good thing this is a shop project. The holes may just fill in with glue, we will see.
IMG_9928.jpg

Veneer sheets were jointed with a straight board and a veneer saw, then taped using veneer tape.
IMG_9924.jpg IMG_9925.jpg

Ready to put some glue down and get the panel in the vacuum press.
IMG_9930.jpg

I left it in the press for a bit over an hour. Glue needs air to cure, so it just sets in the vacuum press, and cures once it is taken out.
IMG_9932.jpg

After the glue cured. It sat like this for a while because I wasn't really sure how to get the veneer tape off. Sand, scrape, wet the tape, etc. After some research, I ended up wetting the tape and gently scraping it off with a card scraper.
IMG_9933.jpg

Tape is removed without too much trouble.
IMG_9968.jpg

Time for edge banding. I glued on over sized pieces two at a time and flushed them up with a hand plane after the glue dried.
IMG_9999.jpg

I used a flush trim saw to trim the edge banding to length.
IMG_0001.jpg IMG_0003.jpg

Same procedure with the drawers which are currently in progress.