saying hello

Status
Not open for further replies.

newtonc

New User
jak
I just signed up today.Lifelong woodworker who was taught all aspects of woodworking(from framing several house additions to building furniture) from my self taught father who was an engineer, who always lamented the fact he never went into woodworking as a career...long sentence there.
Anyway,I went the academic route but was always drawn back to the wood.I design/build my own furniture,refurbished antiques(specialize in French),and even taught woodworking in The Netherlands for 2 years.I really enjoy experimenting,the 2 years over seas I spent countless hours just bending wood to see how far I could go with it.
I have a strong attachment to hand tools(but collect all machines I can get my hands on).I have a natural connection with Japanese hand tools,they just make sense to me.I learned early on that observation is key to this craft and I have worn out welcomes with several well known woodworkers trying to observe their art.
I have moved around a bit...5 states and 3 countries,over the years.And this last move has landed me Hillsborough NC.Probably for a while.I am settling in.Do not know where to go for lumber yet,or machinery.Looking to find someone who carries dust collectors right now.Rather not waste another $100 on S/H.
My woodworking has been backstage lately because of my main priority....My 4 year old daughter and another on the way(august '07).I am a stay at home trophy husband...I mean stay at home dad.And I always dream of starting my career up again and I can't wait...but I wouldn't miss watching my kids grow up if you payed me.
So I think that gets me started here.I don't talk much but I think you'll hear from me time to time.But understand I'll always be listening.
Thanks

DaveO

New User
DaveO