Rocker in Fuquay-Varina

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocker

New User
John
Hi All,

I found this site mentioned at the Klingspor store in Raleigh after all these years. I've been living here in Fuquay since 1996 and came here by way of Memphis, TN: Sarasota, Fl; and Waitsfield, Vermont. By day I'm a commodity broker...yeah, I know...and work in my shop whenever I'm free. I do custom carving for cabinet makers here and there, some church carvings, some furniture embellishments for other woodworkers. But, my current passion is making sculptured rockers...hence the handle...Rocker. I started by making a standard Maloof style rocker and it was a pleasure to make that one. But, now I'm determined to push the envelope and have the design reflect my own aethetic.
Its nice to find a forum of like minded woodworkers, I'm just sorry it took me so long.

John Flanagan
Fuquay-Varina, NC 27526

DavidF

New User
David
Welcome to the site John. You will find us all a fun bunch with plenty of experience between us and always willing to help out. You are close enough that you should be able to join in the "Apex lunch club" crowd when we meet occasionally. Look for postings by "Woodguy1975" and visit his web site; he is our resident Maloof style rocker maker. we like to see pictures so get an album set up and start posting!

Rocker

New User
John
DavidF,
Thanks for the reply. It's impossible for me to get away for a lunch during the week, but any weekend would be great. BTW, do you know what I have to do to qualify for the membership card and discount cards?

sapwood

New User
Roger
Welcome Rocker! Sorry it took so long to find us. But you're with friends now :lol: It's a great group with diverse skills and interests . . . including several fine chair craftspersons and carvers. We are glad to have you in the talent pool :icon_thum

Check out this thread for info on becoming Discount Qualified.

Roger

DavidF

New User
David
DavidF,