Refurbishing an old Stanley bench plane with lots of pictures

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarkE

Mark
Corporate Member
I picked up this old Stanley #7 jointer plane from EBAY. It appears to be a type 15 with a lever cap from a later type (16+). The lever cap has the kidney shaped hole. Anyway it was probably manufactured sometime between 1931 and 1941.

Here it is as received.
Hand_Plane_Refurb_001.JPG

Hand_Plane_Refurb_003.JPG

Hand_Plane_Refurb_002.JPG

Not looking so good. So I am going to have to clean it up and see if it still works.

Now, I am by no means an expert at this, but I have come up with some methods that work for me. Some may be good and some may not. Most of these methods I read about here and on other woodworking forums. What really taught me a lot of things that I had no idea about was Chrisopher Schwarz dvd, Super-Tune a Handplane. If you want to know more about re-furbishing and setting up a hand plane, I reccomend you get a copy of this dvd.

First thing I did was take it apart to inspect everything.
Hand_Plane_Refurb_004.JPG

Lots of rust, but no pitting I could see, and no broken, missing or incorrect parts, except maybe that lever cap.

So I set about cleaning things up. I soaked all the steel hardware in Krud Kutter rust remover. While those parts were soaking, the iron, cap iron(chip breaker) and lever cap went to the wire wheel mounted on the bench grinder. The wire wheel took off most of the rust and scale. It also removed the loose, flaking nickle plating on the lever cap.

The brass parts got dipped in the Krud Kutter and then brushed off with a small, toothbrush style wire brush. A quick once over with synthetic steel wool (like Scotchbrite) got the brass pieces bright and shiny. I used that same brush and wool on the steel hardware removing almost all of the rust and corrosion.