Recommend me some Epoxy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jak3

New User
Jacob
Looking to try making a river table in the future. Need a good brand of Epoxy that won't break the bank. One that I can add pigment to and make it look awesome.

Thanks

Last edited:

Phil S

Phil Soper
Staff member
Corporate Member
Best source would be uscomposites.com I am thinking their 150 resin would work well for you. Definitely do not use the resin found at either big box stores, they will cloud over within the first year.

Jak3

New User
Jacob
Best source would be uscomposites.com I am thinking their 150 resin would work well for you. Definitely do not use the resin found at either big box stores, they will cloud over within the first year.

Could you point me in the right direction as to which ratio to use? I've never used epoxy before. I understand that the ratio can cause the epoxy to be too soft or bendy or vice versa. What would you say is good for a river table?

Phil S

Phil Soper
Staff member
Corporate Member
The ratio of resin to hardener depends on which product you buy. For example if you decide to use medium speed 150, the kit will come with the exact amount of hardener to create a 3 to 1 mix. If you use fast set the ratio is 4 to 1 but with a different hardener.
You must mix this exactly as the instructions say, if you try to adjust the cure speed with a different ratio you could end up with a mess

Hope this helps

Jeff

New User
Jeff
What is your type of river table that uses pigmented epoxy poured into some carved out profile? How do you do the profile before the epoxy pouring?

I use West System epoxy exclusively. Usually the 105 resin and 206 hardener but there are other hardener choices to use with the 105 resin.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwCVG-VA-ck

Chilihead

New User
Chilihead