Questions about acclimating air dried slab

wbarnes

Will
Corporate Member
I just got a walnut slab yesterday locally that has been air dried for about 8 years (or so they say). The slab is approximately 6/4 thick, 10’ long, averages 13” wide, and the moisture content is around 12% according to my meter checked in several places. My garage/shop isn’t insulated or conditioned, so I doubt the moisture content will change much but I still plan on letting it sit in the shop for a week or so before using it.

Would cutting the slab into two 5’ pieces be ok to do at this point? Would it help it acclimate faster, or introduce possible problems? I will be using the slab to make a desk. My thinking was that by cutting it into two pieces I would be able to bring it into the house to sit and acclimate where the desk will eventually be. Good idea or no?

This is my first time working with a slab and with anything air dried, so any comments, recommendations, general knowledge is much appreciated.

Attachments

• A30B4024-309B-4E32-8964-B2CE60E0E151.jpeg
    A30B4024-309B-4E32-8964-B2CE60E0E151.jpeg
    3.8 MB · Views: 75

JNCarr

Joe
Corporate Member
Agreed, a little high. The attached is a handy reference.

Attachments

• Wood Moisture Content.jpg
    Wood Moisture Content.jpg
    313.4 KB · Views: 89

wbarnes

Will
Corporate Member
Seems like the moisture content, 12%, is a little high, imo.

(anyone) Isn't it "best" to be in the range of 7% - 9%?
I actually just went to the garage and checked again now that I’ve cleaned the slab off. Seems some dirt/debris that was on top of the slab threw my reading off more than I thought it would and the moisture content is +20%. Rookie mistake. Looks like it’ll be sitting in the garage for a while and I’ll need to find another option for the desk I need to build for my wife.

How long should it take a slab to dry from 20% down to usable levels? Seems there may be an online calculator somewhere?Also remeasured and it is closer to 8/4.