Problem ripping wood on table saw

Status
Not open for further replies.

ejensen

New User
Eric
I am a relative novice at woodworking. I have a table saw and am fairly confident the blade is parallel to the fence (but maybe you'll tell me otherwise). There are no burn marks on the cut side of the wood and the cuts are very smooth. When I rip a board, as the cut portion of the board moves past the blade, the board tends to want to deflect away from the fence. So what you would see as I am ripping a board is at the front (cutting edge) of the board, the board is against the fence, and 6 inches past the back of the blade, the board is 1 or 2 mm off the fence (kind of bowing against the back of the blade).

When ripping a wider board of 4 inches or more I can use two hands and push diagonally and keep the boards flat against the fence, but for thinner boards, like 2 inches, I end up with a board that has a slight bow along the cut edge ( because it is essentially getting shaved as it turns against the back of the blade). So if you ripped a 12 inch piece of wood 2 inches wide, and then put it on its cut side on my table, it would have a 1 - 2 mm bow in the middle. I do use a featherboard at the leading edge of the blade to push the board against the fence.

Any thoughts on what is causing this and how I can stop it? Is it technique? Blade not parallel to fence?

Thanks for any hints/suggestions

LeftyTom

Tom
Corporate Member
I'd check to make sure the the fence is parallel to the blade at the front and back of the blade.

Gotcha6

Dennis
Staff member
Corporate Member
If you're not getting any blade burn it sounds like a simple case of blade not being parallel to fence. Two things to check for: