Other Sites

Status
Not open for further replies.

JackLeg

New User
Reggie
Just clicked over to Saw Mill Creek to see what's going on. WOW!

How old is that site? They have 245 MEMBERS on line and almost that many guests! NO, I'm not a proponent of "Bigger is better!"

I'm not jumping ship, just looking for thoughts on why they're so big!

Staff?

:notworthy:

Glennbear

Glenn
My guess is that the size is because of it's longevity and also because it is not geographically limited. I like the fact that our site is pretty much limited to a particular region thus keeping it more locally relevant. Sometimes smaller is better. :gar-Bi

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
Here's a guess....

NC WW audience = North Carolina, a handful from South Carolina & Virginia, and some stray folks elsewhere
SMC audience = World

WoodWrangler

Jeremy
Senior User
They do have a lot of members, but it doesn't seem like "as many" posts as we have on NCWW (just my perception, never compared the details). As mentioned, that site is open to just about anyone, anywhere which makes their target market much larger. Another forum site is trying to get legs too (actually saw it on a Google ad on NCWW.com) called woodforums.org -- but things are slow moving. I think they too are trying to compete with the SMC forum with an unrestricted target market.

Forums, forums, forums ... I'm happy with my NCWW!

Douglas Robinson

Doug Robinson
Corporate Member