new member reflections

Status
Not open for further replies.

jdarnell78

New User
Jeff
Greetings,
I'm an Appalachian State graduate from 1986. I was in the Industrial Arts program with a concentration in Woodworking... but then I somehow ended up in the printing industry for over 25 years. I'm trying to knock the rust off any woodworking skills I may have had back in the day when I had the honor of studying under Bill Hanner, Eric Reichard and their colleagues. Phil Armstrong, now a teacher at ASU, was a classmate and mentor in the early 80's.

I miss the fellowship of working along side fellow craftsmen who were building amazing projects! I also have 1000's of board ft of red oak logs that will be sawn in early January into a variety of lengths and thicknesses. I will attempt several "live edge" projects after the lumber seasons for x amount of time. Both hurricanes did a number on our home in Durham.

Historically, I've been used to working with kiln dried material in the 8% moisture content range. Starting a niche lumber company business will have a learning curve and I hope to gain some insights on how best to stack, sticker, store and season the red oak to use for projects over the next 10 + years....Lord willing. I should have plenty to share if anyone wants to be part of the "slabfest" when the sawyer comes on January 8, 2019.

I also need a workshop consultant to help me get organized ....with the tools I already have but aren't used because my shop isn't quite finished and has become a storage facility after the death of my parents and all the "stuff" that comes with this type of transition and season of life.
This is a paying gig. Also, on January 8, I will hire people to assist with the red oak slabbing as this could be a younger man's type of laborious task.
I'm not sure what to expect once the slabs start piling up.

Thanks for letting me join your Forum!

Sincerely,
Jeff Darnell
aka jdarnell78

Raymond

Raymond
Staff member
Corporate Member