need to build a table

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShawnS

New User
Shawn
As many of you might know I'm a teacher and today one of the ladies that works here asked me to build the school a table to use for the spring formal for the 7th grade students. She wants something roughly 18-20 inches wide, 5 feet long, and about 45 inches or so high. I've been trying to think of a style to use but am having trouble. Anyone have idea ideas or pictures of something you've built similar? I don't want it to be to complicated I'm not going to have enough time to do something very fancy with it but don't want to build just an average table either. Would be nice to build them something that will be used for a decent amount of time. I know being used in a public school is going to be rough on it. Thanks for any help

Gofor

Mark
Corporate Member
May want to do a search on "sofa tables" to get some ideas. Probbly have to change a couple dimensuions but they should give you some ideas.

Go

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Dining tables are generally 32 inches high.

A standing bar type table might be 45. Is this a table to stand around? Even so, 32 may be more versatile.

Joe Scharle

New User
Joe
At 45", some of the students will be able to walk under the table. I don't think you really want to have it higher than a counter-top (35-36")'
I made my dining tables 30" high.

Dutchman

New User
Buddy
School table.jpg
Can't get much simplier

SubGuy

New User
Zach
I have recently found out, industry standard high top (libation industry) is 42".

Dining tables are generally 32 inches high.

A standing bar type table might be 45. Is this a table to stand around? Even so, 32 may be more versatile.

Hmerkle

Board of Directors, Development Director
Hank
Staff member
Corporate Member
O.K. not to be "that guy" but...

I agree with Jeff - "What is the function?"

Isn't a 20" wide table, 40+" high prone to be top heavy and possibly tip over?