Need some advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

jbrewer

John
Corporate Member
I just completed a hope chest. I used birch plywood with poplar trim (edge joined, molding, as well as the base) I want the stain to be like Red Mahogany. Is there a way that I can get the poplar trim to come anywhere close to the same color as the birch? I tried on several sample pieces and the poplar turns out more black than red.

Thanks for the help!

DaveO

New User
DaveO
You might try partially sealing the Poplar with a coat of .5-1# cut blond shellac (de-waxed)and then stain with a gel stain. The gel stain will help you to control the absorption into the wood and the shellac will also limit it. Poplar isn't known for it's ability to take stains well. Another route would be to go with a dye. I have no experience with dyes myself but I have read that they are more easily controlled.
HTH, Dave:)

jbrewer

John
Corporate Member
Thanks Dave. Please forgive my ignorance, I am new to all this (that is probably obvious since I chose poplar and knew I needed a dark stain), but what exactly is .5-1# cut blond shellac (de-waxed) and where can I get that locally. I had thought about the gel stain and will definitely give that a try. I should have a nice collection of stains by the time I'm done::lol:

DaveO

New User
DaveO