Moving and Building But in the mean time what do I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

joekwon80

New User
joe
So we're moving to raleigh from durham and my current wood shop is in my garage. We've already moved into a tiny apartment while our house is being built, but what on earth am I supposed to do with my shop?

Does anyone know of any spaces that rent out for a decent price? I'm just a hobbyist so I can't join a coop for $500 a month. But at the same time I want to continue to work on some projects!

Last edited by a moderator:

Henry W

Henry
Corporate Member
Re: Moving and Building But int he mean time what do I do?

Joe:
just to clarify, are you looking for a shop rental, or a storage place? I think you are looking for a shop rental. Your tools or already equipped? In Raleigh or in Durham?
Not that I have any ideas on rentals, I just want to clarify for others.

Henry

joekwon80

New User
joe

That's correct. I'm looking for a shop rental. I'd rather do a shop rental than store my tools for a year. But, it may have to be that way at least until the house is built.

Jeff

New User
Jeff

So you want to rent so many square feet equipped with heating, air, and electrical. Move the tools and set up a temporary shop with a 1 year lease?

Make a few calls to Raleigh area realtors specializing in commercial real estate-not office space. Good luck and keep us posted. It's an interesting proposition.

patlaw

Mike
Corporate Member

Find someone to share the space and rent with you.

joekwon80

New User
joe

I like these ideas!

Definitely going to seek out some commercial spaces! And if I can't will try to do a split.

Tarhead

Mark
Corporate Member

I was in the same situation (in Durham at the Yorktown apartments) in the late '70s. Got a piece of 3/4" plywood and cut it to fit on top of the tub in the spare bathroom. Amazing what you can make sitting on the toilet in a spare bathroom:wink_smil

joekwon80

New User
joe