Just getting started ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

TimRice

New User
Tim
Hello everyone. I've been reading the forums for a few weeks now, and thought I'd finally post something here about myself

My name is Tim Rice. I live in Durham and I'm a Computer Professional who has grown tired of living, breathing, and sleeping computers 24/7 :eusa_booh (so what am I doing here on a computer you ask?). I needed a hobby, bad, and computers got me into this state, maybe they can help me get out. I've always enjoyed working with my hands, and there are enough large items on the Honey-Do list to justify some of the basic equipment.

I've lived in NC for most of my life, and I like to spend my summers in NH, on a quiet little lake. My wife and I have 2 great kids (D:4 & S:6.5) plus two "ferocious" watch dogs. Whippets make perfect WatchDogs(tm). They'll Watch anything as long as they can see it from the Bed or the Sofa!!!

I'm still in the process of setting up a 'shop' in my one car garage. I'm not totally new to woodworking, but I've been away from 'large' power tools for quite a while.

My current scheme is to clear enough space in our highly cluttered garage to get a BT3100 functional, then make enough saw dust to convince the SO to help me clear some of her 'junk' (junk in the George Carlin sense, of course) out of the garage (boxed up since well before we got married), then I can expand the hobby further and repeat the process with new tools. I have actually been told I can have a contractor saw, lathe, drill press and miter saw but they are stored in a garage in NH, and with no place to put any of it, and given the distance ... the BT3100 seems the best short term compromise to work on smaller projects and some minor home repairs with the least outlay of precious $$$.

At least that's the plan ... we'll see how it fairs with first contact!!