hello all new member.

Status
Not open for further replies.

dave "dhi"

New User
Dave
hello, im dave. I'm a self employed carpenter and have recently partnered up with a buddy in portable sawmilling. was told of site from a customer purchasing some sawn lumber. look forward to learning more, along with maybe adding some knowledge also!

about to build my first home, which also will be my own house! 8-O

looking for any good recommendations and a good planer to handle rough sawn lumber in big amount! favoring a jet!

thanks dave

scsmith42

New User
Scott Smith
Hi Dave, and welcome to the forum.

Re planing rough-sawn lumber, if you're looking at doing it in volume for your milling business, you're going to need a real workhorse that can easily plane 3/8" in a single pass on wide boards. I don't think that Jet has anything like that.

I use an extreme duty 7.5HP 3phase Grizzly, and personally I think that it's light duty for planing large volumes of RS. Look for one of the old "heavy iron" planers that are designed for production; you can stumble across them on many of the national woodworking forums from time to time.

Regards,

Scott

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Welcome Dave, it's great to have you here. We can never have enough sawyers on the site...helps to feed the wood addiction :-D Congrats to the start of your new house, that will be an experience that you will never forget, and a constant source of pride.
You might consider looking into some of the larger planers from Grizzly. Like this one with a spiral indexable carbide insert head (long lasting and easy to change as needed) - http://www.grizzly.com/products/G1021X

See you around!!

Dave:)

Bryan S

Bryan
Corporate Member
Welcome to the site Dave.

Good luck on the house I have never built a house but have done some remodeling and 2 additions on my previous and current house and know what kind of jobs those were. Post some pics showing your progress.

Dutchman

New User
Buddy
^