GROZ Hand Planes??

Status
Not open for further replies.

bluthart

New User
Brian
I noticed Woodcraft has this brand of hand planes on clearance. They are very inexpensive, but are they worth it? I am an amatuer woodworker but I could get a decent collection cheap with these. Let me know if anyone has any experience with these. I have a Worksharp so I can put a good edge on them. Thanks for any input!

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
They can be made to work, whether it is worth the work you have to put into it is up to you. The blade is one element, but the casting is rough, the frog doesn't seat well and everything needs a little filing and finishing. We did one at the last workshop and it took about two hours to get it working. I can usually do an old Stanley in 15 - 30 minutes and they work better when done.

fsdogwood

New User
Pinwu
They can be made to work, whether it is worth the work you have to put into it is up to you. The blade is one element, but the casting is rough, the frog doesn't seat well and everything needs a little filing and finishing. We did one at the last workshop and it took about two hours to get it working. I can usually do an old Stanley in 15 - 30 minutes and they work better when done.

If the #5 is cheap enough, then it can be used, with some sharpening, given
that you are using the #5 as the #5 (i.e., not the last smoothing plane).

For #4 and/or #7, I would get an old Stanley, or the woodriver, or LV/LN.

Regards.

Pinwu

FredP

Fred
Corporate Member
I have a bunch of old planes that I just got cleaned up that I can pert with reasonable. they still need some fine tuning but are making shavings now. shoot me a pm. they are not all stanleys but they seem to be made as well as stanleys. got a range of sizes to choose from. blocks 4's 3's 5's and a large old wooden smoother. I worked a little more on some a little less on others....:gar-Bi

SeanStuart

New User
SeanStuart
I bought the #5 for $19 plus shipping.