Easy Turning Ideas

ste6168

New User
Mike
Hi all -

I bought a lathe, used, about a year and a half ago, simply because I got it for what I would consider a great price. I have no real lathe experience, have played with it a couple times, but haven't made anything yet. Can anyone offer some good ideas for things to turn, that are relatively easy, but useful? I do not have a chuck, yet, though I am considering picking up a Nova as I really want to learn this skill more.

The lathe I have is a Delta 46-460 w/ extension bed. As far as tools go, I have a set of the Benjamins Best turning tools, which came with the lathe purchase.

Thanks for the ideas and insight!

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
So, for now you are limited to turning between centers.

Some simple projects to get started are:
Candle sticks, get creative and use found sticks or firewood.

Rolling pin, the French style that is all one piece.

Mushroom decorations, again limbs are free practice material.

Good luck and when this pandemic calms down look upThe North Carolina Furniture School. Kent Stuart teaches and hosts a turning club.

ste6168

New User
Mike
So, for now you are limited to turning between centers.

Some simple projects to get started are:
Candle sticks, get creative and use found sticks or firewood.

Rolling pin, the French style that is all one piece.

Mushroom decorations, again limbs are free practice material.

Good luck and when this pandemic calms down look upThe North Carolina Furniture School. Kent Stuart teaches and hosts a turning club.

Yeah, so I was wondering about that... If turning a large stick or small log, does having the pith in the center matter? I am also assuming that you have to account for the thing to get wonky over time as it dries?

Funny enough, I just commented on one of his Instagram posts recently. I would like to get up to his new location to check the shop out and would love to take a turning class with him!

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member