Crawl Space Moisture Management_Encapsulated Crawl Space

Status
Not open for further replies.

HMH

Heath Hendrick
Senior User
Hey folks,

I've picked up enough knowledge from this site, outside of general woodworking, to know that several of you are pros in the construction field as well, and though I'd ask some collective advise on an upcoming home project.

For a little background - we moved into our current (forever?) home roughly 18 months ago after searching for some time for either land to build on, or the "perfect" existing home w/ access to acreage. We were lucky enough to find our place at a great price, needing a little work here and there to bring things up my standards, but I kind of enjoy that side of things anyway, (I'm a structural engineer by trade), so it has worked out well thus far.

I did a thorough inspection prior to purchase, and had a list of projects that I knew needed to be addressed at some point, one of which being the crawl space, (damp, dirty w/ an existing vapor barrier in need of replacement). Fast forward to last fall, my wife mentioned a musty smell in her reading nook off of our bedroom, that I initially didn't think much of, but one afternoon a few days later, while replacing the HVAC filters (in the afternoon vs. at night which is usually when I find time to do such things), I saw daylight when I opened a small return grill in that room - no bueno. I got into the crawl space, (of course at the opposite end of the house from the access door, and noticed that the duct had fallen away from the register. I fixed that, and went through the rest of the ductwork the following weekend, taping several other areas I found that were partially separated, (learning to wear gloves when working w/ foil tape in the process - that stuff is sharp!)