Building a shop

Status
Not open for further replies.

rherrell

New User
Rick Herrell
Hey everybody
This is my first post but I have been reading your comments for some time.
My name is Rick and I'm a sheet metal fabricator by trade (30 years) and a weekend woodworker for enjoyment. Basically I've just been making frames for my stained glass projects and a few small tables and the like. I've decided to build a bigger shop in the back yard and I would like some input from the professionals on what to do and more important what NOT to do.
I have enough space for about a 24'x24' or 20'x30' bldg.
I'm planning on a metal 2 car garage with 7' walls and a gable style roof with 2 roll-up doors. I'm leaning toward a slab foundation with 2x4 sleepers and a 3/4" plywood floor. I need help with dust collection, shop layout and anything else you can think of. I'm looking forward to hearing from you. Thanks for all your help , Rick.

4yanks

New User
Willie
Rick,
I am not a professional WW. I have been an avid amatuer for about 12 years. I just completed construction on my third shop (2nd freestanding). The size and details of the shop you are proposing sound good to me with the exception of the height. Seven feet might be a little short, espcially if you will be raising the floor with sleepers and wooden flooring. At a minimum this will limit the floor area you will be able to use for placement (and choices) of some machinery. For example, many larger dust collectors are designed to fit under an 8 foot ceiling or higher. Furthermore, handling stock is more difficult if your ceiling is a limiting factor. I would shoot for a 9' ceiling or higher if I was you. Having said all this I will tell you that my first shop was only 6' tall at the sides and 7' at the center. I made it work and I'm sure you can too. Good luck.

M

McRabbet