Best Wood For "piddling"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Srminosky

New User
Shawn
So as you can tell by my status, this is all kind of new to me. There is a lot out there I still don't understand or haven't built up to.

BLUF

I have made a toddler bed, a flip top entry bench, some floating shelf's, etc, using the "white wood" from the big box stores. I am not looking to be a Picasso. Looks good, sturdy, cheap (money not quality) am I using my funds effectively or is there a better bang for my buck available?

I make a lot of novice errors as expected and I don't feel I am ready for that big money step yet, and I am perfectly fine with cheaper alternatives as well.

please keep in mind its my first time, go easy and KISS (Keep It Simple for the Stupid) LOL

Thank you all in advance for the hazing that is about to commence! :gar-La;

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Pine is about the least expensive wood in this area.

A nice hardwood that is relatively inexpensive would be poplar. It takes paint very well and can be stained or dyed. Some like the green/cream/purple streaked wood in the natural colors.

Mark Gottesman

New User
Mark
No hazing warranted. We all try and stretch our woodworking dollar as far as possible.

I keep an eye on Craigslist and the local Habitat restore for inexpensive lumber. Estate sales and auctions are often other good sources. I've also dismantled discarded furniture for project lumber. Not much choice in what you get so if you need a particular wood type and size other avenues will need to be explored. If you get a planer and a table saw (or some saw to break down larger pieces you can get rough lumber and process to use. If you can live with it breaking down pallets and other dunnage / crates will yield a acceptable wood for the price of some sweat equity. Again, tools to process lumber will help.

rcarmac

Board of Directors, Secretary
Robert
Staff member
Corporate Member