Beginner Handtool (Dovetail?) setup

DustinS

New User
Dustin
I am a woodworking novice and completely new to handtools. Outside of the woodworking classes at the crafts center at NCSU (I highly recommend these for anyone who is new to woodworking/power tool safety), I have never cut a dovetail nor do I own any tools practical for this task. I have started back with some wood projects but we have a 4 month old so most of my playing is at night when he is asleep. It is frowned upon to run power tools during this period (or so my wife tells me). Therefore I would like to learn some handtool skills. Mostly dovetails and mortising. I really have no actual plans, just want to cut something in wood.

My hope is to dimension lumber when I have a free hour or two over the weekend and then I can play with new skills during the week. So I've been looking into a basic setup. My goal is to buy quality so i would prefer to just buy what I need for now and work up. I'm looking for thoughts on this list. I essentially have no handtools except a pencil and a set of HF chisels that i have hammered through doorframes and nails and whatever else I saw fit with house projects. I'm assuming those are no good.

Marking guage: ($20) These seem pretty basic from many places. Do i need anything special like the micro adjuster or double rail?
Marking Knife: ($10) Is this necessary or is pencil just as good?
Chisels: (40$) Narex Chisel 4 pack . Would i be better off with just a couple sizes of a different/better chisel?
Mallet?: ($30?) I'm not sure here. Seems the Wood is Good is well liked but seems pricy. Any favorable weights? Mostly dovetails with some mortises but I'm not really sure about the future. I have a claw hammer. Would that work to get started?
Handsaw: ($30) I've only ever used a handsaw a few times but i tend to prefer a pullstroke, which is nice because they are cheaper. The 7 inch Suizan Dozuki seems well rated for 30$