Anyone worked with Ailanthus (Tree of Heaven)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CDPeters

Master of None
Chris
Yes, that nasty invasive, fast-growing, nasty-smelling Tree of Heaven!

The LOML and I are taking Virginia's Master Naturalist course and our presentation last night was by Harvey Darden, the Director of State Lands for the VA Dept of Forestry. In talking about invasives, he mentioned that Virginia Tech had done some research on charcoaling it and also pelletizing it for wood stoves. He also mentioned that some woodworkers around Charlottesville had done some woodworking with it.

Just wondering if any of our illustrious group had ever worked with it - specifically if the nasty odor dissipates with drying. I did find some old posts from DaveO and jeff... about it, but they had more to do with IDing.

What say you group - any experiences to share?

AllanD

Allan
Corporate Member
I have no experience with the wood but I do have what I believe to be one growing behind my office. I think the odor is mostly from the male tree's flowers but I may be wrong and the wood may have some too. One of the problems apparently with any of the trees that grow tremendously fast like this tree and Paulownia is that the growth rings the first few years are so wide compared to others that it makes an unstable wood when dried. But again I have had no experience with the wood itself. Some have used Paulownia wood for woodworking though. In fact, the Woodturning journal I just received had a photo of a bowl turned from it. Good Luck and maybe someone with actual experience will chime in.

CrealBilly

New User
Jeff