30 amp extension cords?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NCPete

New User
Pete Davio
waiting for permission to wire my garage to power the new equipment may be a while. Can anyone tell me if this cord will work for my new 5 hp planer?? I understand i may have to change the ends, so I may not go for the glowing end type, but it is just about 25 feet from my dryer (in laundry room) to where my new planer and jointer will reside. It seems that this resolution would be cheaper than buying ends and wiring them together. Does anyone see anything wrong with this???

FredP

Fred
Corporate Member
I'm no expert but it looks reasonable to me. if you will only be using it on the one tool why not cut the female end off the cord and wire it direct to the switch. instant cord with no breaks to come undone.:) that is how i did my shaper. the cord that came with it was only 3 or 4 feet long.:-x

fred

NCPete

New User
Pete Davio
I may actually be using it with my jointer, planer, and a bandsaw, too, if I can get them all on the same plug. If I am really feeling squirley, I may conver the ts to 220 also, and use that one source for the short term.

Jim Murphy

New User
Fern HollowMan
AWG 10-3 is OK for 30 amps at 220v. However, check the owners manual for your 5HP plane. My PM66 is only 3HP and the manual called for a 30 amp breaker. IIRC, for the 5HP model, they called for AWG 8.

Jim Murphy

New User
Fern HollowMan
I endured the freezing rain and went to the shop and check the manual. For the 5HP, it specs a 10GA feed but calls for a 40amp breaker instead of 30amp (which my 3HP uses). Probably something about start-up surges. You should be fine. Also, shop carefully for plugs and receptacles. The price of some of that 220V stuff will capture your attention rapidly.

M

McRabbet