Tablesaw Blade recommendatiion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ptofimpact

Pete
User
Hi again all, first allow me to say, Thanks to All who have replied to my posts full of questions. I am a novice woodworker, not in 'years' but in skill, so your patience and help is most appreciated.
I have acquired a new Craftsman 10 inch tablesaw , nothing fancy just the basics. Has a Riving Knive, Blade Guard, anti-kickback Pawls, left tilting blade. The first project on it will be a Sled.
Mostly I do smaller projects, keepsake boxes, shelving, basic repair things, kitchen pullouts, etc., use primarily dimensional lumber, and now have access to locally milled hardwoods. Have been looking at Diablo blades, for cost reasons, and would like a recommendation..... if I bought only one blade what would you all select?

Thanks again

Canuck

Wayne
Corporate Member

Skymaster

New User
Jack
best overal blade cost vs performance go Freud. Forrest are great but to me not at almost double the price. Freud is what I run in my cabinet shop

Gofor

Mark
Corporate Member
I have had good luck with Freud, although their Avanti line does not seem to stay sharp as long. A 50 tooth combo blade is a good choice for general purpose all around use. Have not used the Diablo, so can't comment on that one specifically.

Go

kooshball

David
Corporate Member
Check out Oshlun blades on amazon, I have one on my track saw and it performs well beyond its price point.

FWIIW i also have a Forrest woodworker ii for my table saw and think that it performs below its selling price. I have used a cheap 40 tooth delta blade with acceptable results, as smooth no, but I clean up anything cut on the table saw with the jointer or hand planes anyway. The Forrest cuts smooth for a while but too smooth perhaps because it builds up pitch very quickly and before the end of a project it is burning the wood if not cleaned repeatedly...much more often then any other blade I own.