Spray, Brush or Wipe?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JackLeg

New User
Reggie
I'm seeking advice on what finishes to use on the Laptop desks I'm building. They're just a simple piece cut from 1/2" plywood, g1s. I also need to step on on the quality of the plywood, so I'm open to suggestions on this also.

What would you suggest to use for staining, and also for finishing? :dontknow: I went with what I had this time on the first 4 and used some MinWax Golden Oak and wiped it on.

For a top coat, I brushed on 3 coats of poly.
I dislike finishing, mainly because I'm not good at it. :thumbs_do I've heard good things about Target coatings water based products? :icon_scraYour opinions?

If there are better choices, please let me know. I plan to make several of these between now and Christmas. I realize this ain't "fine furniture" but I'm a complete rookie when it comes to finishes.

Will post a pic when I'm completely done with a couple.

Thanx.
:wsmile:

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
I am finishing up 3 simple lap desks (been doing it for about 3 months).

I brushed oil based poly and hate it. Too many runs, not smooth, etc. Once I finish this I swear I am not brushing oil anymore if I can help it.

I have sprayed a fair amount of Target USL and love it. It is not hard enough for a table top or writing desk. Their Emtech 6000 is supposed to do well for this, but I have not tried it, but I think I will order a gallon to have on hand.

Personally, I will either spray or use a wiping finish going forward. Brushing is a pain. You have to have a hand light to look at the thing at an angle and all to find errors. Plus, doing something that needs to be finished on all sides is tough.

You don't have to have a high end set up to spray. If you have a compressor a decent quality conversion HVLP gun is sweet.

Ken Massingale

New User
Ken