Roots & Fruits

Status
Not open for further replies.

NuWine

New User
NuWine
Hi everyone. Im Nuwine from Southernpines. Im pretty new to the world of woodworking across all the lines of woodworking. My father & I own & operate a small logging & tree removal service here in Moore co. Additionaly we own a small bandmill that can mill timbers into 20inch wide boards up to 20ft long. We purchased the mill primarily just for the fun of operating one. Not to long ago i had a chance to visit Klingspors of raleigh while looking for a router bit that could tongue & groove 2inch thick boards that will become floors for the home im planning to build. Yes you read it right..im using 2inch thick boards laid over 6x6 beams in my floors & ceilings..My home will end up being 35ft tall towers with flat roofs with 3 floors in one tower & 4 in the other with each floor being made of a different type wood & im milling the walls into 9inch thick beams from 9inches tall to @ 20inchs tall all out of shortleaf & longleaf pine timbers.Many of the timbers exceed 200yrs in age. I will have flat but accessable roofs. So far ive decided to cedar,true antique heart pine,knotty pine,ambrosia maple,cherry,black walnut,white&red oak,pecan,sycamore,hickory & hemlock thruout the floors all cut 2inches thick & one floor with a mixture of all the above & brafford pear,dogwood& holly mixed in.Many times during our harvesting practices we come into contact with with all the above listed timber types and after that visit to klingspors we have begun saving select pieces for those who have an interest in these timbers types as well as having already saved several dozen cherry burls of varying sizes from as big @ as a football to 6ft around with any more cherry burls scheduled to come in within a few weeks. im also keeping an eye open for crotches of varying types.As time goes by im getting more of an eye for whats desirable & whats not as were use to havin most of our materials trucked off to chip mills we